Keystone  Assault  History

The Keystone Assault was formed in the summer of 2008 by veteran players, a coach and a volunteer. After experiencing first-hand the challenges of operating a women's football team in the Harrisburg area, they decided a change was needed. For this reason, the Keystone Assault operates differently than the teams of the past. Instead of being an owner/player operation, the team is run by a five-member voting board, which provides stability in decision making for the team.

 Spring 2009 was the first season the Keystone Assault competed in the WFA (Women’s Football Alliance). The team ended the season with a 4-4 record, a huge accomplishment for any first year team. A 4-4 record the team's first season may not seem like a big deal to some; however the two Harrisburg teams that played prior to the Assault never won a game, let alone put points on the scoreboard. The team may have been formed in the summer of 2008, but history began at that first touchdown.

In 2012, the Keystone Assault made their first playoff run losing in a very close and competitive game to the New York Sharks. In the 2013 season, the Keystone Assault made a huge jump to the IWFL (Independent Women’s Football League). We had a winning record of 7 wins and 1 loss. We made it to the second round of the playoffs, with a heartbreaking loss to the Montreal Blitz. 


After the season ended, the entire board decided they had played their part in the team’s success. They were ready to hand the reigns over to the next board. We, the new board, acquired the team in September 2013. We were determined to make the Keystone Assault better and stronger in 2014. We succeeded with a full rooster and a record of 8-0. Unfortunately, we lost the division tiebreaker game and did not advance to the playoffs. 

In 2015 the Keystone Assault were members of the Women's Spring Football League (WSFL). After years of fighting to earn their spot in the history books of women's football, the Assault finished the season 8-0 and went on to become the 2015 WSFL Champions.


For 2016, the Assault have merged with the Baltimore Burn. Both teams are established organizations an decided it would be best to join forces due to low numbers. The Burn-Assault are looking forward to yet another history making season and hope to be one of the first successful mergers in women's football, paving the way for other small teams and eventually the leagues, to follow suit.


In 2017, the Assault's roster consisted of mostly rookies. They were thrown into the fire against a couple division II teams and some very competitive division III teams. Even though the season ended with a 3-5 record, we gained a solid foundation for the next season.